It’s a battle

In this race of life, I want to run with perseverance
throw off everything that hinders me, the sin entangling me
I want to fix my eyes on Jesus
so I don’t grow weary or lose heart!

I’m on a battlefield
need to be on my guard
I’m on a battlefield
gotta put on the full amour of God
I’m on a battlefield
alone I would fail
but I’ve got the help of my Lord!

I must put to death, all that’s of my sinful nature
fight against sexual immorality, lust, evil desires, greed, impurity
I want to fix my eyes on Jesus
and become more like him!

I’m on a battlefield
need to be on my guard
I’m on a battlefield
gotta put on the full amour of God
I’m on a battlefield
alone I would fail
but I’ve got the help of my Lord!

I do not understand what I do.
For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.
How wretched am I! Who will rescue me?
Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!

I’m on a battlefield
need to be on my guard
I’m on a battlefield
gotta put on the full amour of God
I’m on a battlefield
alone I would fail
but I’ve got the help of my Lord!

So I must be strong in the Lord
I say be strong in the Lord
and in his mighty power!
I will put on the full armour of God
to take my stand against the enemy’s schemes
in this struggle that goes beyond flesh and blood
against the powers of this dark world
against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms

I will put on the full armour of God
so I can stand my ground
when the day of evil comes
and stand firm
with the belt of truth around my waist
the breastplate of righteousness in place
and my feet made ready by the gospel of peace

I will take up the shield of faith
to extinguish the enemy’s arrows of flame
take up the helmet of salvation
and the sword of the Spirit, the word of God
And I want to pray in the Spirit continually,
on all occasions with prayers and requests
I want to be alert and keep praying for all the Lord’s people

I’m on a battlefield
need to be on my guard
I’m on a battlefield
gotta put on the full amour of God
I’m on a battlefield
alone I would fail
but I’ve got the help of my Lord!

(With excerpts from Colossians 3, Hebrews 12, Ephesians 6 and Romans 7 from the New International Version of the Holy Bible)

Leave a Reply

